• There are different waiting periods before you are eligible for an expungement in the State of New Jersey, depending on your case.
  • Regardless of the charge, if your case resulted in a dismissal, you’re immediately eligible for expungement.
  • If you plead guilty to what are commonly referred to as municipal ordinance violations, which are the lowest level of quasi-criminal offenses that people plead guilty to here in the State of New Jersey, you are eligible for expungement two years after the completion of the last event, usually the payment of a fine, in your case.
  • If you’ve been convicted of a disorderly person’s offense, commonly known as a misdemeanor, the waiting period is five years from after the last event in your case is completed, again, commonly a fine, sometimes the completion of a probationary period.
  • If you’ve been charged and convicted of a felony offense, the waiting period can be up to 10 years.
    • There are certain circumstances in which an expungement can be done after a five year waiting period if the individual person seeking an expungement can prove to the court that they’re someone under extraordinary circumstances and deserve an expungement sooner than the regular 10 year waiting period.
  • You’re eligible for an expungement six months after the last event of your PTI.
  • You’re also eligible to expunge any and all juvenile offenses.
  • An immediate consultation with an experienced New Jersey expungement attorney prior to beginning the process is important so it’s done correctly the first time.