There are three levels that are important in the State of New Jersey to keep in mind. A level of .15 is the highest of those three levels. The reason .15 is important, is because it carries the additional penalty of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle as well as the 7 to 12 month license suspension, fines and penalties, insurance surcharges, and time in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, which are also present with the next level of .10.
A level of .10 used to be the only Blood Alcohol Content or BAC level that mattered in New Jersey, but now, as stated before, there are three. For .10 what’s important to know is that the license suspension is still 7 to 12 months, there is still the time in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, the insurance charges, and the same fines, although the ignition interlock device that was previously discussed does not apply. Finally, the last important level and the lowest of the three is .08. The reason .08 is so important and, obviously, the best to be charged with in a drunk driving case is that there are lesser license suspension penalties that apply to that level of DUI in addition to fines and insurance surcharges. A .08 BAC only carries a 3 to 7 month license suspension and with all factors favorable to the individual defendant, you may only be looking at 90 days or 3 months of a license suspension. In any event, the BAC is only one factor in your drunk driving case; all necessary to be discussed with an experienced attorney at the time of your arrest.
Keith Hirschorn, P.C., is an experienced criminal defense attorney working throughout the state of New Jersey. If you have any questions regarding the merits, facts or circumstances of your case, call the law office, located in Hoboken, to set up a free initial consultation.