cannabis-448661_640 Oftentimes when I receive a phone call from an individual who has been charged with possession of drugs, the drug in question is marijuana. In New Jersey, the key number to keep in mind when possession of marijuana is the charge against you, is 50 grams. The reason being, is if you’re charged with possession of marijuana under 50 grams, your case immediately goes to the municipal court in the town that you were charged in. The reason that’s important is that in the municipal court you’re charged with what’s called a disorderly person’s offense, commonly referred to in the rest of the world as a misdemeanor. The maximum penalty that you’re facing is 6 months in custody as opposed to being charged with possession of marijuana over 50 grams which is a felony offense that you could be looking at a state prison sentence of up to 5 years. In either case, there may be defenses available to you or there may be issues with your case that an experienced attorney can take a look through the paperwork and discovery that you’ve received from the prosecutor’s office and determine what and how to handle your possession of marijuana case.
Keith Hirschorn, P.C., is an experienced criminal defense attorney working throughout the state of New Jersey. If you have any questions regarding the merits, facts or circumstances of your case, call the law office, located in Hoboken, to set up a free initial consultation.