- The penalties associated with a third offense DUI in New Jersey can include:
- Mandatory 10 year loss of driving privileges
- Mandatory $1,000 fine
- Mandatory 180 days or 6 months in the county jail (90 days can be served in an inpatient rehab if the person has an alcohol problem)
- $1,000 surcharge on the insurance for 3 years and other consequences from your individual insurance carrier
- Ignition interlocking device is placed on your vehicle
- Ignition interlocking device requires you to blow into it and show they have no alcohol on their breath or the car will not start.
- Consult with an experienced drunk driving attorney immediately for advice regarding your case.
A third offense for DUI in the State of New Jersey carries some fairly significant penalties associated with it if the client either pleads guilty to that charge or is found guilty by a judge after trial. The penalties associated with a third offense DUI in the State of New Jersey are a mandatory 10 year loss of driving privileges, a mandatory $1,000 fine and a mandatory 180 days, or 6 months, in the county jail, although 90 days of that can be served in an inpatient rehabilitation center if the person has a problem with alcohol. In any event, the 180 days is mandatory and it must be served in custody whether in that facility or in the county jail. As I stated, there are quite significant penalties for a third offense DUI. That’s why it is most important that anyone charged with a third or subsequent offense for DUI consult with an experienced New Jersey drunk driving attorney prior to going to court on their offense.
To round out the penalties, there is a mandatory $1,000 fine, a $1,000 insurance surcharge for 3 years on your driver’s license, as well as the consequences from your individual insurance company which can be quite significant financially for any third offense DUI. There’s also an ignition interlock device that must be placed on your vehicle. An ignition interlock device is a device that requires an individual to blow into it. It’s attached to your ignition and will not allow the vehicle to start unless the individual has no alcohol on their breath. In any event, the consequences of a third offense DUI are very significant in the State of New Jersey. A consultation with an experienced drunk driving attorney is a must, and I would suggest that you contact an attorney immediately upon your arrest for a third offense DUI.
Keith Hirschorn, P.C., is an experienced criminal defense attorney working throughout the state of New Jersey. If you have any questions regarding the merits, facts or circumstances of your case, call the law office, located in Hoboken, to set up a free initial consultation.