- The penalties for a second offense DUI in New Jersey are greater than those for the first and can include:
- Mandatory 2-90 days incarceration in the county jail wherever the incident took place
- 2 year mandatory loss of driving privileges
- $1,000 surcharge on your insurance for 3 years as well as potential insurance rate increases by the individuals insurance carrier.
- Mandatory $1,000 fine as well as other court fees that can total up to $1,250.
- Potential for 30 days of community service
- Potential for ignition interlocking device placed on any vehicle registered to you for a period of 1-2 years after the license suspension runs out.
- Ignition interlocking device is placed on the ignition of a car and requires you to blow into it to prove to the car that you don’t have any alcohol on your breath.
In New Jersey, as with most other states, the penalties for a second offense DUI are greater than those for the first. The penalties in New Jersey for a second offense DUI are a mandatory 2 days to 90 days incarceration in the county jail wherever your incident took place, a 2 year mandatory loss of your driving privileges and a $1,000 surcharge on your insurance for 3 years as well the potential for whatever other insurance rate increases you may incur based upon your driving record and individual insurance carrier. You’re also facing a mandatory $1,000 fine as well as other court penalties and assessments that total up to approximately $1,250.
There’s the potential for 30 days of community service. There’s also the potential for having the ignition interlock device placed on any vehicle registered to you for a period of one to two years after your license suspension runs. An interlock device is a device placed on your ignition that requires you to blow into it, to prove to the car or the device that you don’t have any alcohol on your breath prior to starting that vehicle. Although these penalties are quite significant and the consequences are quite severe for either a plea or a judge finding you guilty of a second offense of DUI, that doesn’t mean that your individual case may not have defenses or other facts and circumstances that would not require the imposition of these penalties. Anyone charged with a second offense DUI in the State of New Jersey should certainly contact an experienced drunk driving attorney to discuss their individual case prior to going to court.
Keith Hirschorn, P.C., is an experienced criminal defense attorney working throughout the state of New Jersey. If you have any questions regarding the merits, facts or circumstances of your case, call the law office, located in Hoboken, to set up a free initial consultation.