Our firm deals with several cases in which clients are facing a DUI or DWI charge. There are often common questions about what will happen next, penalties involved, and possible consequences for the accused driver. We understand it might be scary and overwhelming to be dealing with the consequences of a serious traffic violation, and you might have many questions. Our Jersey City criminal defense attorneys are just a phone call away, ready to help you with your case’s specifics. We have also compiled three of the most common DUI/DWI questions we are asked by drivers every day.
How Long Do I Lose My License For a DUI in NJ?
That depends on whether this is your first, second, or third DUI conviction. For a first-time offense, you may lose your license temporarily (4 to 6 months) if your BAC was found to be above 0.15%. In addition, you may also have to install an IID device in your vehicle and pay any applicable fines and fees.
If this is your second DUI offense, you may lose your license for up to 2 years. You will also be required to install an IID device for two to four years. The fines and fees are also higher.
For a third DUI offense, penalties are even more severe. You can have your license revoked for up to 8 years and a whopping $5000 in fines, fees, and surcharges. You may also be required to install an interlocking device on any vehicle you own for an extra two to four years.
How Can I Get My License Reinstated After a DUI/DWI?
At the MVC, you will need to prove that you have completed a state-approved substance abuse program and pay a reinstatement fee of $100. You will also need an SR-22, a document required to show proof of vehicular insurance policy for high-risk insureds. If you have been convicted, you may be required to install an interlocking ignition device on any vehicle you own.
Will I Need to Pay More For My Car Insurance After a DUI?
Yes. After a first-time DUI conviction, drivers will have a hard time finding affordable vehicle insurance. Insurance premiums can go up by 72%, and in some cases, all the way to 132% when compared with rates paid by low-risk drivers. Depending on the circumstances, some insurance carriers may decline coverage altogether.
Finding car insurance after a DUI is a daunting and expensive endeavor, forcing drivers to resort to so-called high-risk carriers, who will charge higher premiums for those who need an SR-22 or who are considered high-risk drivers. The premiums will be calculated through various factors, including the driver’s age, type of car he or she drives, where he or she lives, and the type and amount of infractions the driver has on record.
Our DUI Lawyers Are Here to Help
If you face DUI charges in New Jersey, don’t make the mistake of trying to fight them on your own. Our lawyers are well-versed in all aspects of New Jersey DUI laws and can help you obtain a more favorable sentence and lower fines. Call us at 201-798-4024 as soon as possible to review your case.