Aside from the stigma, stress, and anxiety of being arrested, booked, and put in a holding cell in jail for at least twelve hours, there are other consequences you could face if you are convicted and found guilty of a DUI. In many cases, this is the first time a person has gotten in trouble with the law.

police officer with a breath test machine

They might think it is better to resolve the DUI as quickly as possible so they can get back to a “normal” life. However, this is never the best approach, as New Jersey takes drunk driving offenses very seriously. Even though someone might think it is easier to just plead guilty or take a plea deal to have their charges resolved, they soon find out they just made a big mistake.

Before you even consider that option, you will want to consult with your own DUI attorney to find out your options and how to develop an effective strategy to fight the charges. The initial consultation is free, so there is no cost or obligation to you.

To further convince you to speak to an attorney, let’s look at the potential outcomes you could face by pleading guilty or taking a plea deal.

First Offense Consequences

First-time DUI offenders in New Jersey could be sentenced to the following:

  • Maximum Fine Up to $500
  • 30-Day Maximum Jail Time
  • License Suspension from 3 Months to 1 Year
  • $1000 Mandatory 3-Year Insurance Surcharge
  • Minimum of 6 Hours a Day for 2 Consecutive Days at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Second Offense Consequences

If you are convicted and found guilty of a second offense DUI, the penalties become more severe as follows:

  • Maximum Fine Up to $1,000
  • Minimum of 48 Hours in Jail Up to 90 Days Maximum
  • Mandatory 2-Year License Suspension
  • $1,000 Mandatory 3-Year Insurance Surcharge
  • Ignition Interlock Device Installation and Associated Fees for 1 to 3 Years
  • Mandatory 48-hour Detainment at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Mandatory 30 Days of Community Service
  • Other Fees and Penalties Averaging $1,250

man in handcuffs

Third Offense Consequences

New Jersey takes repeat offenders very seriously and has some of the strictest consequences for third-time offenders, which include:

  • Mandatory Minimum Fine of at Least $1,000
  • Up to 90 Days of Community Service
  • Mandatory 6-Month Jail Time
  • 90 Days Inpatient Rehab Center Treatment in Lieu of 90 Days of Jail Time
  • Mandatory 10-Year License Suspension
  • Mandatory 48-hour Detainment at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • $1,500 Insurance Surcharge for 3 Years
  • Interlock Device Fees for Up to 3 Years

Please keep in mind, these potential consequences do not take into account other costs and fees the court may impose if you are convicted and found guilty of a DUI.

Even if you believe there is no possible way to defend against your DUI charges, there may be options available you are unaware of that Jersey City DUI defense attorney, Keith Hirschorn, P.C. could use. Call us at 201-798-4444 for a free consultation and case evaluation now!