Attorney for Driving While Suspended in Hoboken and New Jersey
Defending clients against charges of driving without a license
It is illegal to drive in New Jersey without a license. Whether you have never had a license or had one suspended, you should have an attorney review your case if you charges for either offense. For an unlicensed driver, the law inflicts a hefty penalty and possible jail time related to the offense. If you have been caught driving without a license, you should contact one of our experienced traffic court attorneys at Keith Hirschorn, P.C. Courts are somewhat more lenient to people who never had a license compared to the penalties for driving with a suspended license. Though New Jersey politicians have worked to fix the discrepancy of the penalties, the law still remains the same. Driving with a suspended license is a more severe offense.
Driving with a suspended license explained
In New Jersey, one of the more significant traffic tickets is driving with a suspended license. Driving while suspended falls into several different categories, and each ticket carries the potential of a loss of driving privileges as well as a significant fine starting at $500. Although you may have been charged with driving while suspended, your situation may have various circumstances, facts, and defenses that would allow you to avoid some or all of those penalties. Contact an experienced New Jersey attorney to discuss what took place and why you were stopped for driving while suspended. That attorney will be able to discuss with you what potential outcomes you may be facing.
Driving with a suspended license for a DUI
A more serious offense is driving with a suspended license for a DUI. This ticket carries some of the most significant penalties of any traffic ticket in the State of New Jersey. If you’ve been convicted of a first, second, or third driving while intoxicated offense and you were then subsequently caught driving while suspended for that DUI, you’re facing a mandatory 1 to 2 year loss of license and up to 90 days in jail.
An experienced law firm on your side
Whether you have been caught without a license or something more serious, like driving with a suspended license or driving while suspended in connection to a DUI, immediately contacting an experienced New Jersey traffic attorney at Keith Hirschorn, P.C. It is in your best interest to have us review your case and come to the best possible conclusion.