3rd Offense DWI/DUI Lawyer in Hoboken and Jersey City, NJ
Fighting against a third DUI / DWI charge
A third offense for DUI in the State of New Jersey carries significant penalties. If you have been charged with your third DUI / DWI, you are facing a serious situation that can drastically affect employment and negatively impact your life for years. You are facing a gamut of penalties and overwhelming fines. Contact a lawyer at Keith Hirschorn, P.C. to discuss you case and see what can be done to ease the consequences.
Consequences of a third DUI / DWI explained
The penalties associated with a third offense DUI /DWI in the State of New Jersey are:
- mandatory 10 year loss of driving privileges
- mandatory 180 days or 6 months in the county jail, 90 days of which can be served in an inpatient rehabilitation center
- $1,000 insurance surcharge for 3 years
- mandatory $1,000 fine
A third DUI / DWI conviction also comes with financial consequences from your individual insurance company, which can be quite significant.
Ignition interlock device
An ignition interlock device must be placed on your vehicle. An ignition interlock device is a device that requires an individual to blow into a machine to prove that no alcohol was consumed. It’s attached to your ignition and will not allow the vehicle to start unless the individual has no alcohol on their breath.
A New Jersey DUI /DWI law firm who is on your side
The consequences of a third offense DUI / DWI are very significant. In the state of New Jersey, courts are persistent and aggressive. A third offense will leave very little room for a judge’s discretion. You need a diligent attorney who can look at the facts of your case and apply any defense possible. A consultation with one of our experienced DUI/ DWI defense attorneys at Keith Hirschorn, P.C. is highly recommended.