If you are caught driving under the influence in New Jersey, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. This device will make it so you have to take a chemical breath test every time you start your car. If your blood alcohol level is 0.05% or higher, you will not be able to start the car. You are responsible for covering the costs of this device and must purchase it through one of the approved manufacturers.
Usually, you will not have to obtain an ignition interlock device on your first DUI offense. However, if on your first offense your BAC exceeds 0.15%, you will be required to install one. You will have to have this device installed in your car from 6 months to one year. The penalties for driving while intoxicated in New Jersey are very severe and increase in severity as you continue to make offenses. If you are charged with a DUI and it is your second offense, you will be required to have the ignition interlock device installed in your car from 1-3 years after your driving privileges have been restored. On your third or subsequent offense, you will also be required to have the device installed for 1-3 years following the amount of time your license has been suspended for.
If you fail to install the ignition interlock device in your vehicle, you will lose driving privileges for another year, on top of the suspension that comes with your initial charge. However, if you do not own a car, you may not have to install the device at all. You do have to have one installed on any vehicle that you intend to operate, but if you choose not to drive at all, you may not need one. The State of New Jersey provides a number of resources about the manufacturers that have been approved to sell ignition interlock devices. If you get charged with driving under the influence in New Jersey, please contact an experienced attorney to assist you with your legal matters.
Keith Hirschorn, P.C., is an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney working throughout the state of New Jersey. If you have any questions regarding the merits, facts or circumstances of your case, call the law office, located in Hoboken, to set up a free initial consultation.