The legal age to consume alcohol in the United States is 21 years old, and in New Jersey, it is no different. However, the driving age in New Jersey is much younger than that.
Therefore, though it is unfortunate, it is inevitable that a 19 or 20-year-old will get behind the wheel of a car after having a few drinks. The state has serious consequences to those who drink and drive when they are of legal drinking age but those who are under 21 face much worse penalties.
If you have any blood alcohol reading at all, you will be convicted of an underage DUI. The penalties that you face in this scenario include a 30-90 day license suspension, a possible combination of the minimum sentences for a regular DUI including jail time and fines, 15-30 days of community service and classes regarding alcohol and highway safety at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
In the event that you are under the age of 17 and you are unlicensed when you are arrested for a DUI, you will have to wait an additional 1-3 months before your driver’s licensed has been processed.
In the event that you or your underage child has been arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol, you need to get in contact with an experienced criminal defense lawyer today to discuss your options and the penalties that you will face.
Keith Hirschorn, P.C., is an experienced criminal defense attorney working throughout the state of New Jersey. If you have any questions regarding the merits, facts or circumstances of your case, call the law office to set up a free initial consultation.